Fabrication of Novel Reactive Polymeric Platforms
  • FENS
  • Fabrication of Novel Reactive Polymeric Platforms

You are here

MAT Program Spring 2012 Seminar Series
Fabrication of Novel Reactive Polymeric Platforms for Tailored Bioconjugations
Amitav Sanyal
Department of Chemistry, Bogazici University, Bebek 34342, Istanbul, Turkey
Abstract: Nowadays the design and synthesis of polymeric materials aims towards the
creation of materials that can be functionalized efficiently in a controllable manner. In recent
years, efficient multi functionalization of polymeric materials has been achieved via the
utilization of 'click' reactions. Most commonly utilized ‘click’ handles are the azide or alkyne
functional groups for the azide-alkyne Huisgen type cycloaddition; alkene or alkyne groups
for functionalization via the radical mediated thiol-ene and thiol-yne reactions. Over the past
few years, we have focused on expanding the tool box of ‘click’ reactions in polymer
chemistry by introducing maleimide-based building blocks that enables the synthesis of
various thiol reactive polymeric materials. Talk will highlight the design and synthesis of
novel reactive polymeric materials and their applications in biomolecular immobilizations.
Biography: Amitav Sanyal obtained his undergraduate degree from the Indian Institute of
Technology at Kanpur, India. He completed his Ph.D. in 2001 from Boston University (USA)
on asymmetric organic synthesis. During post-doctoral work at University of Massachusetts at
Amherst (USA), he worked in the area of renewable polymeric coatings and fabrication of
polymer-nanoparticle composite materials using molecular recognition. In 2004, he joined the
chemistry department at Bogazici University, Istanbul, Turkey. Currantly he is an associate
professor at Bogazici University. His research focuses on the development of novel reactive
polymeric coatings for biomolecular immobilization, thermo-reversible materials using the
Diels-Alder chemistry, as well as fabrication of functional materials using molecular
recognition. In 2008, he was the one of the recipients of the young investigator award from
the Turkish Academy of Sciences. In 2011, he was the recepient of Young Invesitigator
Award administered by TUBITAK.
Wednesday, 2 May 2012, 13.40